top of page

Standards & Policies

There are several Government standards that educational settings must comply with, which inform policies that ESPS produce to show our compliance. 

What are you looking for?


Early Years Foundation Stage

ESPS follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Statutory Framework 2014 (updated in Sept 2021), which sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. The EYFS Framework sets out legal welfare requirements, 7 areas of learning and development which guide a provider’s planning of your child’s play and activities, assessments of your child’s progress and expected levels or Early Learning Goals that your child should reach at age 5. You can find out about the quality of your child’s setting and how they are performing in relation to the EYFS Framework via Ofsted, the Government’s official inspection body for early years (see our Ofsted page).

There are 7 areas of learning and development in the EYFS Framework, 3 prime areas which children should mostly develop first and 4 specific areas which develop as they grow:

3 prime areas

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 specific areas

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

At the heart of the EYFS Framework is the principle that young children need to play in order to have fun, make friends and begin to learn about and understand the world around them. The play-based EYFS Framework acknowledges that every child is unique and that they learn and develop at different rates and in different ways.

For more information on the EYFS Framework you can download the document “Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage” from the Government’s website. A very helpful parent’s guide to the expected levels in the EYFS Framework at different ages called “What to expect, when?“can be downloaded from the Action for Children website.



Eaton Socon Pre-School, St Neots
Food safety

Food Safety

Eaton Socon Pre-School passed the Health Promoting Settings course run by Cambridgeshire County Council. In order to achieve the title, the Pre-School had to validate both the setting and their practices as promoting health, meeting and maintaining high standards of health promotion for young children.

The Pre-School is proud of the fact that they have been awarded the Food Standards Agency’s top rating of 5 (very good) in their last Food Hygiene inspection.

Eaton Socon Pre-School, St Neots
Eaton Socon Pre-School, St Neots

Discrimination & Equality

To fulfil our commitment to the specific duty within the Discrimination & Equality Act 2010, Eaton Socon Pre-School monitors personal information on the children in our care such as percentage of male and female children, ethnic group, the percentage of children for whom English is an additional language, percentage of children who are classified as having Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) and percentage of children who are Funded 2 year olds. This helps us to ensure equality at ESPS and that we are a fully inclusive provision.

bottom of page